Osun Rerun: APC wins in Ife North and South LGAs

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has been declared winner of Polling Unit 012 in Olode Ward of Ife South, and Polling Unit 2 in Ward 10 of Ife North Local Government Areas in the Osun State governorship supplementary election held on Thursday.

In the inconclusive election held Saturday, Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP ) scored 254,698 votes to beat his APC rival, Gboyega Oyetola, who polled 254,345 votes

The electoral commission, however, declared the election inconclusive because the margin of 353 votes between the two leading parties, PDP and APC, was less than the number of cancelled votes (3,498) in seven polling units where results was cancelled across four local governments.

Ife South and North houses two of the seven polling units, where the re-run election held. The five other polling units are situated in Orolu and Osogbo.

According to the result declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) through the presiding officer in Polling Unit 012 in Olode Ward of Ife South, the APC scooped 283 votes while the PDP, which came second, had 15 votes.

Thus, APC led the PDP with a margin of 268 votes.

Below is the Breakdown of the votes:

Number of registered voters: 812
Number of accredited voters: 310
Number of rejected votes: 6

APC: 283
APA: 3
PDP: 15
SDP: 1
UPN: 1

Below is the breakdown of the Ife North result as announced by the INEC official at the unit.

Number of registered voters: 353
Number of accredited voters: 133

Void – 1

Vote cast: 130

APC: 126
PDP: 2
ADP: 1

Source: Premium Times

Leave a Reply