#Osundecides: INEC announces date for rerun in 4 local governments


Nigeria’s electoral umpire, INEC has declared Thursday, September 27th as the date for the governorship rerun election in Osun state.

According to the commission, the rerun will be conducted in some of the units in which votes were cancelled for alleged irregularities.

The affected local governments are :
Orolu LGA- 2 Units

Ife South LGA- 1 Unit

Ife North LGA- 1 Unit

Osogbo LGA – 1 Unit

INEC had on Sunday announced the final results of the governorship election, with candidate of PDP leading with a total votes of 254, 698, while APC polled 254,345 to come second in the exercise.

The returning officer for the governorship election, Prof. Joseph Adeola, who announced the results reeled out the total number of valid votes to be 767,955 and rejected votes to be 47,843.

Adeola added that the margin between the PDP and APC which is 353, and the total cancelled ballots totalling 3348 will not make any party a winner of the contest, in line with electoral act.

He, therefore, declared the election inconclusive, as he said the exact date for rerun will be announced soonest.

There’s a difference of 353 votes between PDP and APC with 3498 votes expected from the 4 polling units where the rerun will be held.

The rerun will be among all 48 political parties that participated in the election.

Leave a Reply